Chemical Engineering Names Fall 2018 Noel E. Moore Award Recipients

Thursday, November 08, 2018
Students holding awards.

The Chemical Engineering Department recognized Justin Starke, Zachary Phillips, and Nickolas J. Gum with the Noel E. Moore Achievement Awards for fall quarter, 2018.

The Department of Chemical Engineering has announced the winners of the Noel E. Moore Achievement Award for fall quarter, 2018.

The winners are sophomore Justin T. Starke, junior Zachary Phillips and senior Nickolas J. Gum.

All three recipients exhibit a strong commitment to expanding their knowledge of chemical engineering and applying that knowledge in other areas of their lives. They also exhibit positive attitudes and contribute to a dynamic learning environment. Each also is active on campus outside of the classroom. Starke serves as vice president for Engineers for a Sustainable World, Phillips is a member of the varsity football team, and Gum is a member of the Chem E Car competition team and the Rose-Hulman Gardening Club. 

Each quarter, the department recognizes academic excellence on the part of our students. The awards are named in memory of Professor Noel E. Moore, an outstanding educator and faculty leader on campus for 30 years. Moore served for a decade as head of the Department of Chemical Engineering, was an early leader of Operation Catapult, and was a key advocate for making the institute co-educational. He was named an emeritus faculty member after his retirement in 1998. He passed away in 2018.