Outstanding Physics, Optical Engineering & Engineering Physics Students Honored

Monday, May 03, 2021
Physics student Cody Brelage smiling and holding his physics and optical engineering project.

Cody Brelage was one of 17 physics and optical engineering students to receive awards at a special PHEO department ceremony April 28 in Hatfield Hall.

The Department of Physics and Optical Engineering recognized 17 graduating seniors and underclass students for their outstanding academic, research, laboratory, and extracurricular experiences in a special awards ceremony on April 28 in the Hatfield Hall theater. Department head Galen Duree and other faculty members presented the honors.

Nate Fried and Timothy Li received the John W. Rhee Memorial Award as the outstanding senior physics majors. Fried, from Zionsville, Indiana, is a physics, engineering physics, and mathematics major. Li is a physics and mechanical engineering student from China. Rhee was an inspiring teacher, outstanding scholar, and professor in the department from 1965-77.

Alec Sanabria was honored as the outstanding senior engineering physics student, based upon academic performance and, in the opinion of department faculty, for exhibiting leadership qualities. He is a mechanical engineering and engineering physics student from Germantown, Wisconsin.

Zhaowei Chen earned the Jean M. Bennett Award as the outstanding optical engineering graduating senior after demonstrating excellence in optics studies on campus. Bennett was a research scientist and the first woman president of the Optical Society of America.

Mattias Memering, a senior physics major from Columbus, Indiana, received the Wilkison Meeks Award for outstanding achievement in the field of acoustics and for fostering an understanding of, and appreciation for, acoustics. Meeks was an esteemed researcher and author in the field of acoustics who taught in the department for more than 27 years.

Kayleigh Doyle was presented the Perry Family Astronomy Award for making significant contributions to the institute’s astronomy program and campus Oakley Observatory. She is a junior electrical engineering major from Champaign, Illinois. The Perry family has been a generous supporter of Rose-Hulman’s astronomy program.

Elizabeth Canon received the C. Leroy Mason Award as the outstanding sophomore physics major. She is from St. George, Utah. Mason was a dedicated RHIT physics professor from 1945-66.

Presented the Sophomore Optical Engineering Award was Cody Brelage, from Muncie, Indiana. The award is based upon outstanding academic achievement and promise as a future optical engineer.

Pierce Lonergan earned the Lynn Coyle Award as the outstanding sophomore engineering physics student. He is from Brookville, Indiana. Coyle is a former 1972 RHIT physics graduate who worked in the oil and gas industries.

The following students were presented with certificates for completing minor academic requirements within the department:
Optical Engineering – Ji Li, a senior mechanical engineering major from China.
Astronomy - Logan Cody, a senior mathematics major from Chatham, Illinois; Pierce Ferner, a senior computer engineering and mathematics major from Kent, Ohio; Daniel Johnson, a senior software engineering and computer science major from Columbia, Missouri; and Justin Smerigan, a senior optical engineering major from Woodhaven, Michigan.
Semiconductor Materials and Devices – Noelle Hale, a senior engineering physics major from Encinitas, California, and Rylan Kammerer, a senior electrical engineering major from Colorado Springs, Colorado.
Medical Physics and Nanomedicine – Jonathan Myers, a senior biomedical engineering and biomathematics major from South Beloit, Illinois.