Contact this office:

NEWS: On Campus

< Back to On Campus
< Back to all News

Indianapolis’ Sycamore School Wins Indiana MATHCOUNTS Competition

March 10, 2012

Four students from Indianapolis' The Sycamore School came up with the right answers on several challenge mathematics problems to win this year's Indiana MATHCOUNTS championships on Saturday, March 10, at Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology.


Representing Indiana At Nationals: Indiana's team at the upcoming MATHCOUNTS Nationals will include (from left) Trent Tormoehlen, coach from The Sycamore School; Chad Qian of The Sycamore School; Amanda Li of The Sycamore School; Caleb He of Creekside Middle School; Anthony Ji of Creekside Middle School; and Bob Fischer, coach from The Sycamore School.

Eighth graders Chad Qian and Amandi Li led the way for The Sycamore School team, posting the top two individual scores among the 201 competitors.  Other team members were Vikas Maturi, who placed 23rd, and Christina Duffield, who was 27th.  The team was coached by Trent Tormoehlen and Robert Fischer.

A team of seventh graders from Creekside Middle School of Carmel was a close second after having Caleb He and Anthony Ji finish third and fourth, respectively.  The team also included Brendan Yap, who was 10th, and his sister Melissa Yap.  The coach was Karmen Hamachek.

Placement in the top four individual finishers have qualified The Sycamore School's Qian and Li to join Creekside's He and Ji on the team that will represent Indiana in the MATHCOUNTS Nationals on May 10-14 at Walt Disney World near Orlando.  The coach will be coached by Tormoehlen and Fischer.

Terre Haute's Honey Creek Middle School was third.  Eighth grader Jared Anklam was fifth while classmate Rita Cui was eighth.  Seventh graders Amit Chakrabarti and Chaman Kumar were 16th and 22nd, respectively.  The team was coached by Fischer, Joann Orman and Henjin Chi.

Clay Middle School of Carmel was fourth.  Team members were eighth graders Miles Dai, who was 19th; Ryan Jou, 29th; Dana Wang and Michael Wang.  The team was coached by Sarah Tilbury.

Taking home fifth place was the West Lafayette Junior High School team of seventh grader Arjun Ramani, who was 14th; eighth graders Steven Weiner and Christopher Cooper, and seventh grader Claudia Li.  The team was coached by Patricia Hufford and Pamela Porterfield.

Klondike Middle School of West Lafayette rounded out the top six team finishers.  The team was led by eighth grader Melinda Liu, who placed 11th; seventh grader Clara Sellke, who was 20th; eighth grader Nikhil Carneiro and seventh grader Agustin Garcia.  The team was coached by JoAnn Ward.

Also earning awards for placing in the top 10 were Simon Langowski, an eighth grader from Carmel Middle School who finished sixth, and Peter Dun, an eighth grader from Fort Wayne's Woodside Middle School.

Eighth-, seventh- and sixth-grade students from 44 Indiana middle schools competed in this year's state MATHCOUNTS finals.  Each student participated in three rounds of competition: Sprint, testing quickness to solve problems; Target, testing problem-solving skills; and Team, testing teamwork abilities.

Then, the top 24 individual finishers squared off in a game show-type Countdown Round, where quick problem-solving skills were exhibited on stage in Rose-Hulman's Hatfield Hall Theater.  Qian of The Sycamore School also came out on top of this challenge.

MATHCOUNTS is one of the nation's largest and most successful education partnerships.  The Indiana competition was organized by Patricia Behrens of the Indiana Society of Professional Engineers, with assistance from Rose-Hulman Mathematics Professors Elton Graves, John Rickert and Leanne Holder, Rose-Hulman students and Terre Haute professional engineer Denis Radecki.

Indiana MATHCOUNTS Competition
Saturday, March 10 at Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
Team Results (Scores Not Released): 1. Sycamore School, Indianapolis;  2. Creekside Middle School, Carmel; 3. Honey Creek Middle School, Terre Haute; 4. Clay Middle School, Carmel; 5. West Lafayette Junior High School, West Lafayette; 6. Klondike Middle School, West Lafayette.
Top 10 Individuals (Scores Not Released): 1. Chad Qian*, Sycamore Schoolar; 2. Amanda Li*, Sycamore School; 3. Caleb He*, Creekside Middle School; 4. Anthony Ji*, Creekside Middle School; 5. Jared Anklam, Honey Creek Middle School; 6. Simon Langowski, Carmel Middle School; 7. Christopher Ray, Honey Creek Middle School; 8. Rita Cui, Honey Creek Middle School; 9. Peter Dun, Woodside Middle School; 10. Brendan Yap, Creekside.
Honorable Mention Individuals: Melinda Liu, Klondike Middle School; Victor Pan, Summit Middle School; Jack Bao, Discovery Middle School; Arjun Ramani, West Lafayette Junior High School; Ray Jiang, Creekside Middle School; Amit Chakrabarti, Honey Creek Middle School; Aryaman Gupta, Sycamore School; Owen Kraft, Westlane Middle School; Miles Dai, Clay Middle School; Clara Sellke, Klondike Middle School; Anthony Weng, Honey Creek Middle School; Chaman Kumar, Honey Creek Middle School; Vikas Maturi, Sycamore School; Kun Choi, Park Tudor School
Top Countdown Round Finishers: 1. Chad Qian, Sycamore School;      2. Brendan Yap, Creekside

* Members of Indiana team that will compete in National MATHOUNCTS championships on May 10-13 at Walt Disney World near Orlando.